Getting Started with Mobile Game Dev in Unity

Valdarix Games
2 min readJun 13, 2021

//Installing the needed modules.

Photo by Fotis Fotopoulos on Unsplash

Now that the work on the 2.5D platformer has wrapped up for Game Dev HQ’s professional Unity Developer course I am ready to jump into mobile game development. For this project we will be working with 2D again, just as we did the Space Shooter game. I am kind of excited to get back into 2D work but before I can, I have to get my environment setup for 2D game development.

Before I can get started I need to expand my Unity installation to include the tools needed for Android development. In order to that I need to hop into the Unity Hub.

The hub

In the hub we need to click the vertical … button and choose add modules. This will display the installation screen we see whenever we install a new version of Unity. We need to check the Platforms we want to include and hit next.

add modules

Once this has downloaded and installed the platform tools we are ready to get started. A topic we will save for another day.

--

--

Valdarix Games

Turning my passion for video games and software development experience into a focus on video game development.